Getting Back on Track with Your Diet and Fitness, the Scarlett O’Hara way.

I started this blog with the intent of helping others with their weight loss and fitness goals, and of course with a special emphasis on those who work for a living, have family responsibilities who wanted to become fitter and enjoy life more.  It was my passion to discover the tips that I have shared with you. Things worked so well for me that I even got through the past couple of delicious holidays without gaining any weight, but today, I stand before you human.

Life Happens
Life happens sometimes and even the best of intentions and habits can go awry. This has happened to me. Basically, I have been through unemployment (the easy part), but for the past 6 months, I have had the experience of living on the edge of the unknown while watching my father waste away and die. My duties became being the assisted living caretaker along with my brother. We went on a long, arduous journey watching Dad die. He did pass away right before Thanksgiving in peace and comfort and for that we are grateful.

There was unknown tension around us for months. I didn’t pig out with pasta or ice cream or any of that, but slowly over the months, I over ate.  A little extra here and there over a period of time has taken it’s toll. No, I’m not back at square one, but all of a sudden I’m uncomfortable in my clothes and am not happy where I am now, although to everyone else, “I look fine.”

The Damage of Emotional Eating Over Time
Think about this. If you eat an extra 200 calories per day for 6 months (180 days x 200), then you will consume an additional 36,000 calories over that period. Divide 36,000 calories by 3,500 calories (calories to burn a pound) and in round numbers, you get 10 extra pounds! Do you know what an extra 200 calories amounts to?  Needless snacking, which in my case came from emotional eating.

My emotional eating was born of an underlying tension from uncertainty that comes from watching somebody you care about deteriorate over time. We knew that after July 4th, he could die any day, and it finally happened, much to our relief. Now we enter another place we’ve never experienced, attending to the business of the diseased. With the condition of the estate, we are left way behind the 8-Ball and we are completely in a world of uncertainty that we are living out day by day and hour by hour.

Get Back in the Game!
But you know what? Life happens! I got the thin and strong body I have always wanted and I will drop the handful of pounds that crept on. But first, I have to forgive myself and get back to the business of eating better than I have been. My plan is to try to respond to the source of emotional eating in a more thoughtful manner. Mostly I calm, but the uncertainty makes grab for extra handfuls of things. While I am normally a very disciplined eater, it is more difficult with this set of underlying challenges that have been going on for months and still has a few months to go before things are situated in a steady state.

What Do You Do?
You simply start over. Go back to the fundamentals. Do the things that worked before. Forgive yourself. It’s like the football player that fumbles a pass. Does he go home and quit? No, he gets back into the game. I fumbled, but I’m not out of the game, because this little extra around the middle has got to go! Cut back your portions and insure that you are getting enough time in at the gym each week.

So How Does This Apply to You?
We are standing on the thresh hold of the New Year. More than likely, you’ve veered off your good habits during the holidays. To me, the holidays aren’t fun unless you enjoy some once a season treats. If you have fallen off the wagon, do not let your heart be troubled. You are human. Life happens. Dust yourself off, regroup, and resolve to go back to your good habits. Restart the clock, it’s okay. As Scarlett O’Hara said in “Gone With the Wind”, “Tomorrow is another day.”

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Exercise, Lean Diet, Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Back on Track with Your Diet and Fitness, the Scarlett O’Hara way.

  1. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say
    I really enjoy reading through your articles. Can you recommend any
    other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

