100 Years Old and She Still Exercises!

Whenever I see young children exercising, it makes me feel good because I started being active when I was young also and this has served me well in my adult life. When my generation was growing up, we were naturally active. I consider this fortunate, because the act of being active as a child started a good life-long habit.

This is important, because knowing how I am, had I not started early, I would have never started at all. If that were to be the case, then at this part of my adult life, I would be in horrific condition. I am forever grateful for my active youth for getting me on the right track. A secondary but still very important catalyst was that when I was 18, my mother signed our family up for a health club membership. She exercised 2 or 3 times a week and this set a very good example! So moms, kids pay attention to what you do more than what you say, so set a good example for them because if you do, you will be healthier and fitter also.

I stress these lifetime good habits again because I ran into the most wonderful article online about this amazing woman: Ruth Kobin, who is 100 years old and still exercises. She even does Pilates. She is amazing and inspiring and she’s just like the rest of us: some days she doesn’t want to exercise, but she goes ahead and do it anyway! She eats sensibly and has been active ever since she was young and look how well these good habits have served her. At the age of 100, she has a nimble body and she has a nimble mind. Contrast Mrs. Kobin to the people I saw in a nursing home who are 25 years younger that Ruth, I am motivated to keep exercising.

Please take the time to go to this link and read this article*** about Ruth Kobin. Her exercise philosophy embodies all of the basic principles of good health and good sense. Hopefully you will be encouraged and inspired. Because if you don’t use it, you will lose it. When I grow up, I want to be Ruth Kobin! Thank you Ruth for being a good role model and for your inspiration. You go girl! Enjoy this article and it is my hope that she encourages and inspires you as much as she inspires me. I know there are days like today where I need that inspiration, since I don’t always want to go to the gym either. =)

http://tinyurl.com/RuthKobin

***If you read this article at work, please put your speakers on mute first.*** This page has loud advertising that plays repetitively and you can’t turn down the volume when on the page.  Still, this article is a must-read. Enjoy!

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Aging, Exercise, Health, Lean Diet, Tips, Toned Body, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Years Old and She Still Exercises!

  1. I trust other visitors find your write-up here as useful as I have. I manage a site by myself and would be very happy for you or the readers on your own site to visit. Please go ahead and search through my website like I have with yours and post a remark or two if you find anything interesting. Many thanks.

    • So glad that you found good information in my articles. I appreciate you taking the time to check out my site and to write such a nice note. Thanks for your support and best of luck to you on your blog also!

Leave a Reply

