Delicious Vegan Pumpkin Soup

I love autumn and especially all of the wonderful food associated with this time of the year! One of my favorite things on a cold day such as this is pumpkin soup. The only pumpkin soup I have eaten was at the food bar at Whole Foods, so a couple of years ago, I decided to make my own soup and went on a recipe hunt.

This recipe can be adapted for non-vegan if you prefer. When I had first made this recipe, I was not a vegan. I just enjoyed some pumpkin soup from a batch I made a couple of hours ago that was vegan and it tasted every bit as good as the non-vegan original. This is an easy and tasty recipe that only takes about 15 minutes to throw it in the pot and heat it up. My vegan recipe is low-fat and low calorie. The non-vegan adaptations with cream or half and half will add calories. Or depending on the kind of chicken broth you use, you could be adding unwanted extra sodium. Read your labels.

Ingredients
2 15 oz. cans of pumpkin
1 16 oz. veggie broth (chicken broth/non-vegan)
1 cup almond milk (milk, half & half, cream/non-vegan)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp maple extract
2-4 pkgs of Stevia (Splenda, etc)
2 tsps brown sugar/dark brown sugar
Salt & Pepper to taste
Nutmeg for garnish

Pour all ingredients in a medium-sized saucepan on medium heat and cook until heated through. Sprinkle on nutmeg on top as a delicious garnish.

Yield: 5-6 cups
120 calories per cup (not a mug, a cup which is appx 1/2 of a mug)

Cook’s Notes

  • The original recipe called for 32 oz of broth. I made it that way and made it too runny for my taste. I like soup that is thick, so I used half of a carton (16 oz) instead. If you use less broth, then you don’t have to worry about using cream or half and half to thicken up the soup. (non-vegans)
  • The maple extract is not required, but I wanted to jazz up the maple taste without adding more maple syrup and extra calories.
  • I put probably 1/8 tsp of salt on mine and approximately 1/4 tsp of rainbow peppercorns.
  • Stevia is something else I added because hey, I have a sweet tooth!
  • If you aren’t a vegan and want to add another touch to this soup, then put a dollop of whipped cream on top and then sprinkle with nutmeg.
  • Either way, don’t forget the nutmeg!

Enjoy this soup that is thick, delicious, good for you and will stick to your ribs. You know they always say that people that have soup for an appetizer before a meal will eat less. Enjoy!

Image in the header for this post is by vic15

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Lean Diet, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Delicious Vegan Pumpkin Soup

  1. Janaye says:

    Your story was really informative, thanks!

  2. Jock says:

    Finally! This is just what I was looking for.

  3. Mei Sui says:

    will try this one soon! thanks for sharing this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

