Arm Fat: How to Get Rid of It

I would like to thank one of the commentators on the blog for inspiring this post.  The writer had mentioned arm fat, a topic that is near and dear to my heart. Until now, there has not been a time in my life where I wasn’t hugely ashamed of my upper arms. Even in high school, I kept them covered up for the most part and when I didn’t, it played havoc on my self-esteem.

So I know what you’re thinking, “This girl has issues!” Yes, with my arms I sure did. Even though I have never been what you call as obese, I have often carried an extra 10-20 and sometimes even 30 extra pounds in my life. There have been many people that I have observed in my life that were heavier than me and who had larger arms than me, that did not repulse me the way my own arms did. While I am not one to enjoy looking at meaty flesh, most other people’s arms, even the heavy people’s arms did not have the jiggle. You know the jokes that are made about the old school teacher’s arms, how they look like wings or pterodactyls and such, well that was me. My whole life, I have been plagued with arm fat. Perhaps it is hereditary as my mother and grandmother had it too, but whatever the cause, I didn’t like it.  I had perfectly normal legs for the most part, but my arms did not belong on my body.

Although skin does lose elasticity as we age, the jiggle in my upper arms was plain old fat. Pinch the skin on the top of your hand. It goes back to where it is supposed to be, there is no fat under there! After doing some reading on the subject, my hope on having fitter upper arms didn’t seem lost anymore. If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you will know that I have been in pursuit of a lean diet and exercise for quite awhile. It is my opinion that a lean, yet toned body is very desirable health-wise and is very appealing visually. Give me a lean tennis player over a bulky looking football player any day!

As the weight came off and as I became leaner through diet and exercise*, the arm fat started to melt away. This process does take time, it won’t happen in 3 months or even 6 months, it is a longer term process. While I do have a tad of loose skin (I am not 25 anymore), my arms are lean and toned and I am no longer ashamed of them. No longer do I feel like a freak. My upper arms, back and chest are toned and lean and when I do get to wear something short-sleeved, I am very comfortable now.

So I write this post to be of encouragement. Your arm fat will go over time, with both exercise and a lean diet. In fact, your other fat will go too. I feel so much more comfortable because of this. So if you have too much wiggle and jiggle in your arms, keep the faith, if you are willing to work at it deliberately and not sporadically when it’s convenient, you can get rid of the arm fat too!

*My exercise consists of cardio and resistance exercises that together burn fat and build muscles. This is the most efficient fat-burning combination. Be sure you are revving up your metabolism with some cardio and building muscle with resistance exercises (weights and machines) as muscle burns more calories than fat. By building lean muscle, you get a toned look, even in your upper arms, your chest and your back.

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Exercise, Lean Diet, Tips, Toned Body and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Arm Fat: How to Get Rid of It

  1. Etty says:

    With the bases loaded you struck us out with that asnwer!

  2. Pingback: The Causes Of Arm Fat

  3. Mei Sui says:

    hitting 30 this year makes me wonder if i’ll ever get rid of this arm fat! thanks for this! 😀

    • You are very welcome! Arm fat was a problem all of my life. After consistent exercise and eating a lean diet while losing weight did the stubborn arm fat come off. It didn’t come off fast, but I am happy that I am no longer embarrassed. Best to you!

Leave a Reply

