A New Workout Plan

Dear Friends, I apologize for not being on this blog lately. In the past 3 months, I have started a new job, which has turned out to be the best job I’ve ever had and because it is 30 miles north of me in another town, the commute has added more time to my day. A part of my duties is to blog on the company website on an entirely different type of topic, so I may be suffering from a little bit of blog overload.  As of the past 6-7 weeks, my father has taken ill and is just about totally bedridden.  His health is declining and he could very well be winding down his stay on earth with us. My time away from home with the commute and the extra home care duties have eaten up all my extra time. This has severely cut into my workout time and my enthusiasm to work out.

Old Plan

I had been going to the local YMCA for the past 2 years.  I like the Y because they are honest people and not a rip-off chain that you hear the consumer activists speak of. They have everything there: round the clock exercise classes of every variety, indoor/outdoor pools, wet area and my beloved tennis courts. They have a gym area, a track and the bane of my existence, the basketball court!

You know the Napoleon Hill saying, “Every adversity carries with it the seed of an equivalent benefit”?  Or Romans 8:28, “All things come together who love Christ and are called to his purpose?”  I had that experience! A couple of days ago, my car overheated and I was at work, 30 miles away, just outside of the next little town, hoping I wasn’t about to be stranded. Fortunately, I was directed to a small mechanic 1 mile away who topped off the coolant in my car. On his counter was a flyer for a place called, “Workout Anytime”. I picked one up.

Something New and Better

After I had gotten home, I Googled them. I was vaguely aware of them, but realized that there was one 2-3 miles from my office, and another one 2-3 miles from my house. The next day on my lunch break I went to check them out and signed up on the spot. This was thrilling because it felt so right! Now at work in the mid morning, I look forward to my exercise break. During lunch hour, I get on the treadmill for 20-25 minutes. This is great because I sit all day long and I get energized midday.  At night, I go again! Last night after my grocery shopping, cooking and care-giving duties were complete, I went to the one near my house at 8:30 or 9:00.  The YMCA closes at 9:00 on Fridays, but last night I got a full workout. This place is so serene and quiet and people are there who seriously want to exercise. It actually relaxes me and energizes me, whereas the chaos, the screaming and crying kids, the loud yelps from the basketball court seemed to drain me even more. I didn’t realize this until I left and found the new place to be calmer.

This facility has everything I need and use regularly: the gym equipment and cardio. I don’t do the pools, the wet area, and unfortunately, my busy life doesn’t let me take advantage of the excellent tennis courts. “Workout Anytime” is just that. They are open 24/7/365. They give me exactly what I want and when I want for $15/month vs. $53/month! It is new and clean and the equipment is better than that of the Y in my area. The set up is efficient, I can get a complete workout in 40-45 minutes.

If your workout plan is not working well for you, Don’t stay stuck in a routine that isn’t productive. Keep your eyes out for a Plan B, You might just find one!

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Exercise, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Workout Plan

  1. Amber says:

    You got great points there, that’s why I always check your blog, it looks like you are an expert in this field. keep up the fantastic work, My friend recommends your blog.

    My blog:
    taux rachat credit http://www.rachatdecredit.net

  2. Really great article with very interesting information. You might want to follow up to this topic!?! 2012

Leave a Reply

