“Forks Over Knives” – The Documentary

Healthy Lifestyle Pursuit

For those of you who are serious about your health and I mean “serious” as being interested in more than just cutting back on pizza to lose a few pounds, I have a recommendation for you. For the past 7-8 years, my interest in this topic has grown. Both of my parents had a heart attack within 4 months of one another, with one of them not expected to live even another 48 hours. Originally, having to want to lose my menopausal weight, I began on a mission to learn about what I can do to optimize my chances of keeping all the internal components functioning.

Over time, I have come to look at eating as not only fuel, but medicine for my body. This is not to say I don’t enjoy eating, because I do!! I love the food that I eat and look forward to each meal that I eat as it is both tasty and nutritionally fulfilling. I have written before about the need to become both nutritionally-satisfied as well as pleasure-satisfied in eating to make a good eating plan work. Each thing that I have learned has be a delight and pleasure and has resulted in modifications or “tweaks” as you’ve heard me call them in your diet. The more education you have on the subject, the more likely you are to make the changes and stick to them.

Whole-hearted Recommendation for “Forks Over Knives”

On that note, I highly recommend the documentary called “Forks Over Knives”. Yes, by the title, it is a film about adopting a vegan diet. This is not a video that pushes it on you or shows animals being mistreated. This film is the story about 2 renown doctors whose separate research led them to the same conclusions that degenerative diseases like heart disease, type 2 diabetes, and even several forms of cancer, which could almost always be prevented—and in many cases reversed—by adopting a whole foods, plant-based diet. “Forks Over Knives” even features some reality patients (including the one who actually co-produced the film) who reluctantly follow their advice and see their health turn around significantly.

Go see this film! If you have ever been concerned about your cholesterol levels or heart disease, then this movie could change the way you look at eating. If you are on the fence about making certain modifications, then this movie will be a huge influence to better habits. The slogan for the movie is “Warning, this movie could change your life.” And I for one and glad that it did. I found this movie very informative and substantiates the choices I have made for my life. If you are interested in your health to this degree, then you will be riveted by the information given. The audience in the theater was absolutely transfixed on the screen and afterwards, the result was applause!

For more information: See the Forks Over Knives website as well as Roger Ebert’s review of the movie. In Atlanta, GA, USA, it is currently playing at the Midtown Art Cinema. Enjoy!

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Aging, Eating, Editorial, Tips, Vegan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Forks Over Knives” – The Documentary

  1. “Forks Over Knives” is no longer in Atlanta, but check their website to see where they will be next. Hoping this documentary will eventually come out on DVD.

  2. Sunshine says:

    Articles like this are an example of quick, helpful answers.

Leave a Reply

