How I Am Fighting Osteoarthritis and Making Progress

As you may have read in previous posts, the diagnosis of osteoarthritis in my right knee a couple of months ago, had not only all but stopped my cardio, but ordinary walking had become both difficult and painful. Since this diagnosis, I am still going to the gym, doing the machines, free weights and calisthenics 3 times a week.  I had tried spinning, but had stood up when doing “hills”, only afterwards to find out that you are to use your gears to protect your knees. I also discovered the hard way that without special bicycle shorts, spinning would play havoc with one’s delicate regions. This is a shame, because I really loved spinning class. The bicycle simulator was better, but it still seemed to affect my knees too much also. Arthritis became a change of life for me, one which I am learning better how to adapt. I have vowed to fight this the best I can and with improvement, I hope to be able to return to spinning class and tennis which I enjoy greatly.

Vowing to Fight Arthritis

“Move Free” Supplement for Joint Pain

As I said, I am going to do everything in my power to battle this. I am taking “Move Free,” which is a blend of chondroitin & glucosamine plus a proprietary blend. It was referred to me by someone else who had success with the product. Move Free is touted to see results within 7 days, and sure enough, I did. I went from having a hard time walking to being able to walk without stiffness and pain and being able to pick up my pace some. I even slowed down my usage of NSAIDS (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) and only use them a couple of times a week. I fully intend to get off of these NSAIDS as soon as possible, especially at $170 per bottle at the warehouse club pharmacy.

According to things I have since read, there is also evidence that NSAIDS can inhibit synthesis of cartilage in the knee. Also unlike other connective tissues, cartilage does not contain blood vessles and because of this, it heals very slowly. Previously, I had been drinking Joint Juice thinking I was preventing problems in my joings; and although it has the same amount of chondroitin/glucosamine as Move Free, comparatively speaking, it didn’t do anything!  I thought Joint Juice was fine because I had no pain; but I have to be honest that Joint Juice did not eradicate my pain once the cartilage was worn down and the arthritis began. I asked my orthopedic doctor about whether or not they recommended chondroitin/glucosamine for their patients and they said they didn’t because it helped in some cases, but not in others. It was okay to give it a try to see if it helped.

Collagen Supplements

I never knew there was such a thing as collagen supplements, but one day at the warehouse club they were giving away free samples, so I decided to give it a try. Since there is collagen in the knee cartilage, I decided to try this as well. I am taking both Collagen 1 & 3, and Collagen 2 by NeoCell. Collagen 1 & 3 comes in one bottle, the Collagen 2 comes in another bottle that I had to special order. Collage 2 is found in knee cartilage, so I take it in addition to Collage 1 & 3. I always go online to see who sells products at the best price anyway.

Another Benefit of Collagen Supplements

The demonstration sales person told me that football players sometimes take collagen for their muscles and ligaments and found that as a side benefit, their skin began to look better also! I can attest that it works for your skin. My skin on my face is so smooth and moist that I don’t even need moisturizer on most days! In fact, I need a mid-day face washing.  It doesn’t cause your skin to break out either, so it is good if you have dry skin.

I’ve been taking Move Free for a month and the two different collagens for a little over a month and I dare say that over all, there is improvement in my knee.

MSM Supplements

MSM is also supposed to be helpful for knee cartilage and I just started taking it this week. There is a version of Move Free that has MSM in it, but it is not included in the blend of Move Free that I bought at the warehouse club. I bought a separate bottle of MSM to take daily.

I Am Now Able to Walk for Exercise Again

I was reading “Arthritis Today” and it seemed to state all over the place that if you have arthritis, you need “to walk”! I balked at this, because walking; jogging, tennis and cycling became something I couldn’t do because of the stiffness and pain due. I wrote to the editor asking why they advised this. They replied that although it seems contrary, that it is good for arthritic sufferers because it stimulated the lubrication in the joint and strengthened muscles around the knee. Somehow I didn’t realize that it stimulated the lubrication in the joint and this is something I need! Not to mention the fact that walking and jogging stimulate bone growth, which I knew already. The editor had told me that I need to walk slower, maybe not as far, or maybe on the treadmill but that I needed to get moving, even if I had to wear a knee brace and/or take NSAIDs.

On Easter Sunday, we had the most perfect weather day in Atlanta, GA, USA and since my car had a dead battery, I decided to try to walk to Trader Joe’s, which is a California-based grocery chain, to pick up a couple of things. Granted, I’m used to being able to walk all over the neighbor and love to do it, but this has been off limits to me with the advent of arthritis. I walked to the grocery store and back on a perfect day and although it was only about 1,400′ round trip, this was a huge accomplishment for me!

All week long since then, I have been walking between 15 and 30 minutes a day! And because the weather has been so beautiful, I can walk and literally smell the roses. Walking outside in nice weather is as therapeutic to my head as it is to my body. I am walking somewhat slower than before my arthritis, but at least I’m moving. Comparatively speaking, my knee is doing so much better. I am determined to do all I can in my power by exercising and by taking these supplements, plus I believe in the power of prayer. This affliction will be defeated, and meanwhile, I am very grateful to be on the road to recovery. I look forward to getting even better and am happy to report that I am fighting getting older all the way and that I’m thinking positive: I won’t be putting my walking shoes or tennis racquet up for sale on E-Bay.

If you have any questions about NSAIDs, supplements and treatment for arthritis, please do as I did and check with your doctor.

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Aging, Arthritis, Exercise, Joint Health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I Am Fighting Osteoarthritis and Making Progress

  1. Sheryl says:

    Hey Funny,
    I was wondering on a similar note,, Osteoarthritis progresses with age and affects the area around the joints. One experiences pain, stiffness or swellings due to complete loss of cartilage cushion, extended periods of inactivity, or trauma. The pain differs in intensity from low to high, increasing in humid weather, followed by muscle spasm and contraction. The time to worry is when this pain in the hip, knee, spine or feet persists for more than two weeks.
    Wishes
    You Will Only Pry My Service Dogs Leash Out Of My Cold Dead Hands

    • Hi Sheryl,
      Thank you for your wonderful comments about arthritis. I thoroughly enjoyed looking at your website. Arthritis is something I never expected to have, especially given my above average level of fitness for my age group. Just like it says on your site, arthritis doesn’t go away, but it can be managed. Luckily, I am managing the pain very well with supplements. I can’t do quite as much physically though, and that is frustrating. Thank you again for stopping by and letting us know your thoughts!

  2. Clayton Ohta says:

    The most common form of arthritis affecting people today is osteoarthritis, also known as degenerative joint disease. It is estimated that over 20 million Americans are afflicted with osteoarthritis and it remains the biggest cause of disability among adults. But this number is expected to skyrocket in coming years as the growing numbers of baby boomers retire. Still, young people can also acquire osteoarthritis from severe joint injuries but it remains a major health concern for older persons. although diagnosed in over 20 million people, it is estimated that half the population has osteoarthritis in at least one or more joints. Basically, it is a very common affliction and risks increase as we age. And unfortunately, osteoarthritis is common in both men and women. Oddly enough, however, the condition is more common in men before the age of forty-five. After 45, osteoarthritis is more prevalent in women.’

    Our very own internet site
    <i="http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/how-to-stop-post-nasal-drip/

    • Thank you for your comments about osteoarthritis. It is quite prevalent in the baby boomers. I find that I can manage my pain with a “cocktail” of supplements. The only drawback, if you call it that, is that I can only where heels on a limited basis.

Leave a Reply

