Mystery Weight Gains

This past week has not been a stellar exercise week for me. My cardio is becoming more limited and I missed one of my workouts this week. I’ve been up later and have been eating just a tad more than I would like to for safety’s sake, and then…  some of my good pals came in town and I blew my diet to smithereens! Probably not enough to gain because you can work it off over a period of a few days, but it made me nervous since my body has been “retaining weight” the past month. Needless to say that I was not looking forward to my weight check this morning. I got on the scale and was beginning to think the silly thing was broken, because I had to keep sliding the balance to the left. Come to find out I was down 3 pounds! That made me smile!! If anything, I was expecting the worst. This does not make sense whatsoever, I but I do have an observation on the matter…

The idea of “retaining weight” sounds nutty, but for the past 2-3 years I have been recording weekly weight checks on a spreadsheet to track my progress and in this case, to observe trends. It seems that once or maybe twice a year, my body picks up 3 or 4 pounds out of nowhere, even when I’m eating and exercising properly.  It’s not water weight or bathroom weight because it hangs around for 3-4 weeks, then it disappears as mysteriously as it appears. The other kicker is that when it disappears, my weight drops lower than it was in the first place!

I have no clue as to why my body does this, but all I know is that it does. It is still disconcerting to see a weight gain when you are easily obsessed about numbers. The positive thing is that I am aware that my body does this even when my habits are “good” because I track my weight on a spreadsheet. In this case knowledge is power, and since I know I’m down 3 pounds since last week, I’m going to go have an extra cookie.

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Editorial, Exercise, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

