Boost to Winter Workout Blues

I don’t know about you, but being a southern gal in Atlanta, GA, USA, I am not fond of winter. I am especially not fond of January, my birth month, because after the beautiful decorations we have at Christmas, they all come down and all we are left with is dismal weather with snow, rain, and those depressing white overcast skies.  I guess I have a touch of SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder).  No matter what you surround yourself with to cheer yourself up, there is something very energizing about being out in the sunshine!

After a month of below freezing weather, snow and ice that wouldn’t go away and just plain dreariness, we were extremely blessed this weekend to have not one, but two days of sunshine!  The temps were in the low 70s and instead of long underwear, I was wearing shorts today, driving with the top down on the convertible and breaking a sweat.  The sunshine was extra welcoming today as it seems I’ve hardly seen it all month long.

I was very fortunate to be able to find an empty tennis court and my brother and I got to hit back and forth in this glorious weather.  The sun shined on our faces and a light breeze blew through our hair.  It was relaxing to drink in the beauty of the day while returning shots back over the net.  Both of us felt like we could have gone all day long!  I know that I am so energized that I can’t wait to get back to the gym tomorrow and do my weight training and regular routine.

Need a burst from the winter workout blues? Get out in the sunshine if you can. Even if you can’t play tennis or even jog because of the icy side walks, just get out there and feel the sun shine on your face.  You will feel better and more enthusiastic and will feel energized to go tackle your winter workout as we wait for spring to arrive. A shot of Vitamin D can help and go a long way. If you need a nudge of encouragement, then take two rays of sunshine and call me in the morning!

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Exercise, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

