Diet Psychology

I am working here at my desk in my home office and notice that within arms reach is a bag of black bean tortilla chips, a bag of peppermint swirls, a half of a pack of Kit Kat mini bars and a bag of peppermint lifesavers. On a tin on the desk contains some Dove chocolate squares and in my drawer is two packages of Starbucks hot chocolate that I got for a gift. There are a bazillion calories near me and I haven’t gotten to the kitchen yet! Not only that, but next to my bed is a carton of granola bars. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night, which I’ve done a lot of lately, and I need some emergency rations in between my little meals.

Years ago, I would never, ever have that kind of stuff in the house while trying to watch my weight. A lot of weight loss articles advise you to get rid of all the “junk” in your house so you won’t be tempted. That sounds good, and it may be for most people. But like most people, I need encouragement and I need my treats, because that way I don’t feel like I am sacrificing anything by watching what I eat. It has a very positive effect on me. Knowing that everything I could possibly crave is within close range, I don’t feel lacking and my subconscious isn’t trying to plot a way I can cheat as soon as I get the chance.

I think weight loss/weight maintenance is definitely the sum of your results of dieting and exercise. But to further break it down, it could be described as 25% discipline, 25% psychology, 25% planning & execution and 25% exercise. Yes, you need discipline to stick to a program, but you need psychology to motivate you to plan and execute that program. If you aren’t motivated, nothing is going to happen!  It almost seems easier for most people to be motivated to go to the gym, but to cut out that last group of calories for the diet to really work, we need some psychology to motivate ourselves.

My psychology is that I have my treats nearby, I am never lacking and am always in abundance. This works for me! If you know this won’t work for you, then do what the other advice columns say to do and clear it out of your path. Find your psychology and apply it to your weight loss/weight maintenance program and don’t be afraid to step outside of the box.

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

