Snowed In: Finding Exercise Alternatives

Greetings!  My city of Atlanta, GA, USA has been referred to as “Hotlanta” as both a happening city and perhaps even as a warm southern city.  For the past couple of days it is a winter wonderland, more like an “Atlantartica”.  We got anywhere from 4 to 10″ of snow on Sunday night ranging from the city proper to the mountains of North Georgia. The snow is not too much of a big deal, but we’ve had freezing rain and the entire metro Atlanta area is one big ice-skating rink.

Knowing that it was going to do this, I had an extra workout on Sunday, and am glad I did!   This was a nice exercise in planning ahead.  Yesterday, I spent the day in my little place huddled up trying to stay warm while watching the local news as they showed what a mess the area was.  I sat so much that I was afraid that my behind was becoming permanently attached to the bed. Ouch!  If you have read some of my earlier posts, you may remember that I live with my elderly Dad and have a room that is 120 SF total.  Like many senior citizens, he has never thrown anything away and will never throw anything away, so I am residing with his life long collection of stuff as well as my own.  In this space I have my library, my office and bedroom. There isn’t much room to do much of anything.

The good thing about exercising is that your body gets used to the movement and craves it.  “A body in motion stays in motion” as opposed to “a body at rest tends to remain at rest”. My body was craving movement. Unable to go to the gym, I let necessity become the mother of invention.  I strapped on my iPod full of wonderful peppy music, put on my sneakers and started dancing!  I had a sock hop, a one-woman aerobics class going on in my tiny space! It was entertaining watching my form in the reflection of the flat screen TV. Not exactly sure what I was going to do, I started out with 15 minutes of dancing. After 15 minutes went by, I noticed that I was getting nice and warmed up.  Normally I walk for 30 minutes a day, so another 15 minutes was not a problem!   The half hour went by and I wasn’t ready to quit. Taking off a layer, I danced for another 15 for a total of 45 minutes and thoroughly enjoyed it!

After my sock hop was over, I pulled out the yoga mat and started to do some of the floor exercises that I do at the gym.  It was a tight fit, but I’m small enough at 5′ 5.5″ to make it work.  I did crunches, leg lifts, stretches and a variety of other things for 15 more minutes. Using a couple of water bottles, I did some of the basic lifting that I do.  Granted, I don’t use a lot of weight, but my idea is to keep everything moving, so I just did more repetitions.

1 hour’s worth of exercise went by quickly and I enjoyed it.  I also got enjoyment due to the fact that I got some fitness in despite the fact most of the roads and businesses are closed.  I am thankful that I was able to kick start my brain, as this dreary white snow and white sky is bleak and depressing to me and just makes me want to go to sleep!  I feel better mentally and physically because I was able to shake a tail feather despite the weather!

Let us know how you are doing!  Anybody else snowed in?  Any great new revelations about your fitness program or healthy lifestyle!  Let us hear from you!

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Exercise, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snowed In: Finding Exercise Alternatives

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Snowed In: Finding Exercise Alternatives | Fit & Fabulous! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

