A Personal Victory for Joy!

Hello Healthy Friends,

Just a note to let you know that I went for my weekly weigh-in and I was delighted to find that I did not gain any weight over Thanksgiving and Christmas! Last year I gained 2 pounds between Christmas and New Years because of that wonderful Chocolate Ganache Cake with Peppermint Frosting that I made for Christmas.  2 pounds doesn’t sound like much, but at my size and the fact that I lose about .75 of a pound per month, it took a couple of months last year to counter my weight gain from Christmas to New Years!  That’s a long time!!

What did I do different this year to keep this from happening?  I tweaked my behavior by doing two things:

  1. I ate less of the cake (gourmet and not gourmand) and gave more of it away.
  2. I exercised more!  Knowing that I’d want to eat things like this, I added two days of walking to my weekly workouts so I upped my physical activity beginning in November.

What I had learned from my behavior last year allowed me to still enjoy the cake, and maintain my weight.  Shall I be corny and said “I got to have my cake and eat it too?” Nevertheless, I am thrilled at the results from this year and hope that this illustrates my point of “tweaking one’s behavior to find out what works” and to encourage you on your path to weight loss as well.

 

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Exercise, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

