Fine-Tuning Your Eating Plan

This past year has been a year of fine-tuning my eating patterns to ensure proper nutrition, sensory satisfaction of the food I eat as well as weight loss.  While I am not officially trying to lose weight anymore, I am in fact burning the small remaining fat pockets to reach my goal of being lean and toned.  I may lose as much as 5 pounds more to burn the rest off, but at my current weight, muscle tone and fat content, 5 pounds will take until about Memorial Day.  I have already exceeded my expectations of success and am very pleased with the results.  It feels great to be at the size you want to be where your clothes look good and you no longer feel like a stuffed sausage after getting dressed.

To maintain my weight (or weight loss if necessary), I know I must keep track of not only the portion; but also the nutritional content of my meals.  There must not be excessive calories, but there also needs to be sufficient nutritional substance in what I eat to sustain me throughout the day.  My personal preference is to eat smaller meals and eat the more often during the day, which supposedly allows for more an efficient metabolism according to many articles that I have read.  My meals are 300 calories on average and I adjust as necessary for the size of the actual meal plus the snacks I have during the day.

If you have a small “tank” like that, then you are likely to run out of fuel more quickly.  This is my challenge and people laugh at me because I am “always eating”.  I eat every 3-4 hours!  In months previous, there are admittedly times where I felt hungry and wasn’t in the mood to drink gallons of water to mask that hunger.  The further I go along, the more fine-tuning I do to find out what works for me.  What I know now exceeds what I knew a year ago.  Know that the journey to your weight and fitness goals not only involves many steps, but many tweaks to get there.  More than likely the chances are slim that you will pull out a diet from a magazine, say, “this is it”, follow it to a tee and have it work for you right off the bat.  People can do that, quit the diet and feel defeated.  You must fine-tune your efforts as you go along in order to be successful and achieve your goals. Keep doing what works and tweak and change that which isn’t.  What works for me may not work for you at all.  But a plan will only work if you stick to it, you just have to keep fine-tuning until you find the right one.

While all calories count regardless of their classification:  protein, fats and carbohydrates; perhaps a little tweaking of the ratios will help you feel fuller longer.  While I do not pretend to know the intricate science of it all, I have come to realize that I need a little more protein than I have been getting to sustain me between my meals. Today I had a turkey burger for lunch, which was ¾ to 1” thick and was 200 calories with 35g of protein. I feel very satisfied from eating this amount.  Perhaps this is because I walk 5 days a week and do my resistance exercises 3 times a week?

I cut up a couple of stalks of celery and a carrot for the crunch (no need for potato chips), then put a couple of tablespoons of salsa on top of the turkey patty and for 265 calories, I had a very fulfilling lunch nutritionally!  Being the way I am, I had to have some dessert with that, so add a delightful key lime popsicle for 60 calories and I had 325 total calories for lunch.  Not bad and it was fulfilling. Start comparing food on any restaurant or fast food menu, and see how much better you can do with just a little tweaking.  As you become more aware of what eating out will cost you in unnecessary calories, it will inspire you to research and come up with a better plan.  Knowledge is power and the more you learn about yourself and your body the better off you will be and the quicker you will get to your goals.  Don’t give up, just keep trying!

 

 

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fine-Tuning Your Eating Plan

  1. Cindy says:

    Joy, I am really enjoying your posts. Reasonable, rational and realistic. Thanks for taking the time to help us along.

  2. Good thing you have here! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well composed. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should work! Have a nice day!

    • Hello Alphonso, I am honored that you like the blog! There is much to say and I am attempting to communicate in a coherent manner so that readers can get the information quickly and cleanly and go about their day. Thank you for subscribing to the blog, I appreciate having you as a reader. Please let me know if you have any comments or suggestions to make this site better for everyone. Thanks again and have a nice day!

  3. Good site! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well composed. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post was been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should do the trick! Have a nice day!

    • Hello Tyrone, thank you ever so kindly for subscribing! I am flattered as this blog is a new endeavor for me and it is about 6 weeks old! It is my intent to make it easy on the eyes as many sites have too many distracting things on them. I appreciate the compliments and feel free to give me any feedback you may have to make this site better. Happy New Year!!

  4. I subscribed to your rss feed which really should do the trick! Have a good day!

  5. garaj says:

    This article is pure genius! Your blog is the first one i bookmarked in a very long time. It seems we think alike, let me know if you want to talk some more on the subject.

    • Wow, how flattered I am! Thank you! I am honored that you bookmarked my new site. There is definitely a logic and method to improving our health and fitness that people may not think about because they are busy. I welcome your comments and suggestions because I would love for this to be a quality site for people to get information and to be encouraged. Thank you for stopping and taking the time to comment and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

  6. There is noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made certain nice points in options also.

    • Thank you so much! There is a lot to learn about blogging and health. (smile) Glad that you enjoyed what you saw so far and look forward to more of your site visits and comments. Appreciate your time!

  7. ridicare says:

    Hey, maybe this is a bit off topic but in any case, I have been googling about your web website and it looks really neat. heated about your writing. I am creating a new blog and hard-pressed to make it appear great, and supply excellent articles. I have discovered a lot on your site and I look forward to additional updates and will be back.

    • I know what you mean about wanting to do the best job possible! I just started this blog almost 2 months ago and I am learning as well. It is my goal to be as informative as possible and make the site look as clean as possible. I appreciate the fact that you took the time to visit my new little work in progress and look forward to your future visits and comments. Thanks!

  8. anime manga says:

    I’m typically to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and maintain checking for brand new information.

    • Thank you so much for bookmarking this site. I really enjoy improving my own health and fitness and enjoy encouraging others. Thank you for your compliments on my work and I look forward to hearing from you again!

  9. Laine Sarate says:

    Thanks for this post. I equally agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  10. flori says:

    An interesting dialogue is worth comment. I believe that you should write more on this topic, it may not be a taboo subject however typically individuals are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers accesorii

Leave a Reply

