Christmas Review

Christmas proper is behind us, with only the remnants remaining.  I don’t know about you, but I’m breathing at a normal rate and am enjoying the rest of Christmas vacation.  Just like you, I got busy with my preparations and mainly my big Christmas meal, so I have been neglecting my blog.  Please forgive me as I get back in gear to take the blogging efforts to the next level.

Some of you may be wondering, “What did I have for Christmas dinner? ” Friends, I practice what I preach!  I fixed a meal that to all of us was simply divine!   It was well received by my family.

Joy’s 2010 Christmas Menu

Peppered Beef Tenderloin with Whipped Horseradish Cream

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Potato and Garlic-Gruyere Mashed Potatoes

Fried Red Parmesan Tomatoes

Roasted Brussels Spouts with Balsamic Glaze

Whole Wheat Popovers with Honey Butter

Chocolate Ganache Cake with Peppermint Frosting

Wine, Coffee, Water

I bought the very best ingredients and spared no expense.  For those of you who enjoy cooking, you already know that your creations are only as good as your ingredients (and your recipes).   For what we paid for the best ingredients, was easily the cost of dinner for two at a nice restaurant, not including that expensive bottle of wine.  Four of us dined in the confines of our home, which in my book beats a restaurant any day, plus we had leftovers!  You look at it that way, and then it was a great deal.

Yes, I ate and even had seconds!  The food was so good and delicious that all four of us were so incredibly satisfied.  This is the first time I ever ate a popover, let alone cook one and wow, it was terrific!  Everything I ate yesterday fulfilled all of my sensory requirements so greatly, that I don’t even desire to continue to eat more rich food.  This is a big step in my personal growth and awareness, because it eliminates the fear that I will blow it after eating the Christmas meal.  I now am craving my more Spartan and healthy eating style and couldn’t wait to get back to the gym today.

My big obstacle is the cake.  Last year I made the Chocolate Ganache Cake with Peppermint Frosting and I couldn’t stay out of it, I ate some every day for a week and gained 2 pounds.  This cake tastes just like one of my favorite candies, a York Peppermint Patty!  If a York Peppermint Patty were a cake, it would be this, just add the fudgy ganache outer frosting.  Today, I had just a sliver and decided that I don’t even want any more of it.  This is because my senses are so satisfied that I no longer have the craving for it.  I am currently in the process of trying to get rid of it and give slices away to others, so if you live nearby, I will hook you up!

So delight your senses on these special occasion meals!  You are going to eat more than diet portions anyway, so you might as well make it worth your while with something fabulous!  Just know that this is the exception and not the rule and that you will get back on your healthier habits the next day.

My next post will be about exercise.  If you didn’t exercise today, then do it tomorrow, even if your activity just includes some walking inside at the mall.  Don’t stay on the couch in a food coma, enjoy the sensory delights of a good meal and then enjoy the empowerment of physical activity.  You don’t have to sign up for a 10K; a 5K or even a 1K, just get out there and walk.

About Northside Class of '74

Northside Highschool Class of 74: https://www.facebook.com/groups/682629645087315/ and we are also on www.classmates.com
This entry was posted in Eating, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

